I Am Tired of Seeing Your Face, Open Thread

By Newssleuth

Every Morning, when I first wake up, I get my coffee, turn on CNBC and settle down to start what, I hope, will be a nice relaxing morning. I check on how the stock market is doing, watch the local news and then meander back over to CNBC. Everything goes well for a while. I refresh my coffee, turn on my computer and read my favorite blogs.

But soon my nice relaxed morning ends when I see that  face, your face. When I see your face, I know my stocks will drop in value, my house will be worth less, I’ll  pay higher taxes, pay more for gas and food and, because of you, I’ll see  more of my freedoms diminish.

Last Wednesday, after Scott Brown won the Senatorial election in Massachusetts, you came on TV and interrupted my jubilant morning with a proposal for new Wall Street regulations. The market was still open and dropped like a stone. Thanks buddy. I wish I could return the favor.

Every day your face interrupts my life with your terrifying proposals and downright lies. Every day, when you talk, I hear you whistle your S’s like a squeaky shoe on a basketball court. I see your face swing back and forth like you’re watching a tennis match. I don’t listen to your words. I just see your face.

But I don’t want to see your face. I change the station and there you are again, on every station, your face, again and again, like a scary reflection in a fun house mirror.

This week, when you give your State of the Union Address and I see your face, I will think about turning off my TV, but then, this time, I might choose to suffer, to see your face, so I can hear you and  see your face as you lie. Your face, that face.

Hat Tip Bridgette, Data from CBS News:

SPEECHES, COMMENTS & REMARKS: 411
•Includes 52 addresses or statements specifically on his health care proposals.
• He used a TelePrompTer at least 178 times. (Technically, it was 177 ½ . On July 13, 2009, one of the teleprompter screens on the left side of his lectern fell to the ground and broke shortly after he began speaking. So he was left with half a TelePrompTer.)

NEWS CONFERENCES: 42
• Of which 5 were formal, solo White House Q&A sessions. Four were in prime time. His last one was July 22, 2009.
• Nearly all of the other press availabilities were joint appearances with foreign leaders at which as few as 1 question was taken by Mr. Obama.
• Predecessor George W. Bush did 21 news conferences his first year of which 4 were formal, solo White House sessions. Only 1 was in prime time.

INTERVIEWS: 158.
• This is a striking number of interviews and far more than any of his recent predecessors in their first year. Ninety of the sessions were TV interviews. Eleven were radio. The rest were newspaper and magazine. The number reflects the White House media strategy that Mr. Obama can best respond to questions in an interview setting.

TOWN HALL MEETINGS: 23
• Includes 1 in Strasbourg, France and another in Shanghai, China

DOMESTIC TRAVEL: 46 out-of-town trips to 58 cities and towns in 30 states
• Most frequently visited state by Mr. Obama: New York* (excluding Maryland & Virginia, which border DC and to which visits are more local than out-of-town).
• President George W. Bush made appearances in 39 states during his 1st year.
• President Clinton visited 22 states in 1993, his first year.

FOREIGN TRAVEL: 10 foreign trips to 21 nations (4 of them twice).
• Mr. Obama made more trips abroad in his first year than has any other U.S. President.
• Next most frequent foreign traveler during first year in office was President George H.W. Bush: 7 trips to 14 countries.

FLIGHTS ON AIR FORCE ONE: 160

FLIGHTS ON MARINE ONE: 193

POLITICAL FUNDRAISERS: 28
• The events raised at least $27.25 million. (3 of the events Mr. Obama attended declined to disclose how much was raised.
• George W. Bush did 6 fundraisers his 1st year raising over $48 million.

CAMPAIGN RALLIES: 7
• The rallies were for Gov. Jon Corzine, D-N.J., gubernatorial candidate Creigh Deeds, D-Va, and U.S. Senate Candidate Martha Coakley, D-Mass. All of them lost.

MEETINGS WITH FOREIGN LEADERS: 74 (several multiple times)
• This counts meetings with chiefs of state or heads of government
• George W. Bush met with 115 his first year (many more than once)

NATIONAL DEBT: On day Mr. Obama took office: $10.626 trillion
• One year later: $12.319 trillion
• Increase on Mr. Obama’s watch: $1.693 trillion

BILL SIGNINGS: 124 of which Mr. Obama did 13 bill-signing ceremonies.

VISITS TO CAMP DAVID: 11 visits totaling all or part of 27 days.
• George W. Bush made 26 visits his first year spanning all or part of 81 days

VETOES: 1
• Mr. Obama’s only veto to date killed a bill to keep Defense Dept operating in case Appropriations measure wasn’t passed, which eventually it was.
• George W. Bush – 0 vetoes in first year. In fact, he didn’t cast his first veto until his 5th year in office.

PARDONS or COMMUTATIONS: 0*
* Not counting 2 turkeys he pardoned at Thanksgiving.
(A White House aide says first year presidents are inundated with pardon petitions and usually don’t grant any until after “an extensive review process is conducted at the Justice Department.”)
• George W. Bush granted no executive clemency his first year either, except for turkeys.

VACATIONS: All or part of 26 days over 4 trips
• George W. Bush spent 69 days at his Texas ranch over 9 trips to his ranch his 1st year.

GOLF: 29 rounds of golf
• Most frequent courses: Fort Belvoir 11 times; Andrews AFB: 8 times.
• George W. Bush played golf 7 times his first year.

OUT OF THE PUBLIC EYE:  21 days on which Mr. Obama did not have a public or press appearance.

WHAT PRESIDENT OBAMA LEARNED IN HIS 1ST YEAR?
Spokesman Robert Gibbs said yesterday that “change is never easy; that change takes time; that change has to go through Congress.”

110 responses to “I Am Tired of Seeing Your Face, Open Thread

  1. Sarah Palin Drops The Hammer: “President Obama You Have A Credibility Gap”
    January 29, 2010

    It was like Obama was lecturing America. This was the most disjointed, rambling, and frankly..hateful State of the Union speech we have ever witnessed. It was all about Obama attacking those he thought weren’t on board with his lunacy.

    Everything seems to be “unexpected” to this administration: unexpected job losses; unexpected housing numbers; unexpected political losses in Massachusetts, Virginia, and New Jersey. True leaders lead best when confronted with the unexpected. But instead of leading us, the president lectured us. He lectured Wall Street; he lectured Main Street; he lectured Congress; he even lectured our Supreme Court Justices.

    http://thespeechatimeforchoosing.wordpress.com/2010/01/29/sarah-palin-drops-the-hammer-president-obama-you-have-a-credibility-gap/.

  2. I believe we need one thread for all news about our dear heroes and patriots who show our true colors and fight the good fight for our great United States of America! Please read this heart and gut-felt letter from a 95 year old sailor who speaks his mind and his every right to. What a great hero we have here! And then please visit http://www.blackfive.net (where I found the letter) and read other articles especially the one about the O Admin. removing Hamas members from Terrorists List.
    ~~~~~~~

    Dear President Obama,

    My name is Harold Estes, approaching 95 on December 13 of this year. People meeting me for the first time don’t believe my age because I remain wrinkle free and pretty much mentally alert.

    I enlisted in the U.S. Navy in 1934 and served proudly before, during and after WW II retiring as a Master Chief Bos’n Mate. Now I live in a “rest home” located on the western end of Pearl Harbor, allowing me to keep alive the memories of 23 years of service to my country.

    One of the benefits of my age, perhaps the only one, is to speak my mind, blunt and direct even to the head man. So here goes.

    I am amazed, angry and determined not to see my country die before I do, but you seem hell bent not to grant me that wish.

    I can’t figure out what country you are the president of.

    You fly around the world telling our friends and enemies despicable lies like: “We’re no longer a Christian nation” “America is arrogant” — (Your wife even announced to the world, “America is mean- spirited.” Please tell her to try preaching that nonsense to 23 generations of our war dead buried all over the globe who died for no other reason than to free a whole lot of strangers from tyranny and hopelessness.)

    I’d say shame on the both of you, but I don’t think you like America, nor do I see an ounce of gratefulness in anything you do, for the obvious gifts this country has given you. To be without shame or gratefulness is a dangerous thing for a man sitting in the White House.

    After 9/11 you said, “America hasn’t lived up to her ideals.”

    Which ones did you mean? Was it the notion of personal liberty that 11,000 farmers and shopkeepers died for to win independence from the British? Or maybe the ideal that no man should be a slave to another man, that 500,000 men died for in the Civil War? I hope you didn’t mean the ideal 470,000 fathers, brothers, husbands, and a lot of fellas I knew personally died for in WWII, because we felt real strongly about not letting any nation push us around, because we stand for freedom.

    I don’t think you mean the ideal that says equality is better than discrimination. You know the one that a whole lot of white people understood when they helped to get you elected.

    Take a little advice from a very old geezer, young man.

    Shape up and start acting like an American. If you don’t, I’ll do what I can to see you get shipped out of that fancy rental on Pennsylvania Avenue. You were elected to lead not to bow, apologize and kiss the hands of murderers and corrupt leaders who still treat their people like slaves.

    And just who do you think you are telling the American people not to jump to conclusions and condemn that Muslim major who killed 13 of his fellow soldiers and wounded dozens more. You mean you don’t want us to do what you did when that white cop used force to subdue that black college professor in Massachusetts, who was putting up a fight? You don’t mind offending the police calling them stupid but you don’t want us to offend Muslim fanatics by calling them what they are, terrorists.

    One more thing. I realize you never served in the military and never had to defend your country with your life, but you’re the Commander-in-Chief now, son. Do your job. When your battle-hardened field General asks you for 40,000 more troops to complete the mission, give them to him. But if you’re not in this fight to win, then get out. The life of one American soldier is not worth the best political strategy you’re thinking of.

    You could be our greatest president because you face the greatest challenge ever presented to any president.

    You’re not going to restore American greatness by bringing back our bloated economy. That’s not our greatest threat. Losing the heart and soul of who we are as Americans is our big fight now.

    And I sure as hell don’t want to think my president is the enemy in this final battle.

    Sincerely,
    Harold B. Estes

    http://www.kitv.com/politics/22337870/detail.html

    http://www.blackfive.net

    God Bless the USA and Israel

    • Peachy, I will do that. Funny you mentioned this, as I was thinking the same thing for our patriotic politicians that are trying so hard too. I will leave it in the form of open letters, and everyone can write their own. Great idea.

  3. What Gall!

    Obama: You liked my speech? Please send money.
    By: Byron York
    01/28/10

    About an hour after the end of his State of the Union address, in which he called for an end to the partisan conflict that has plagued his first year in office, President Obama sent out a political fundraising appeal through his permanent campaign organization, Organizing for America.

    “I just finished delivering my first State of the Union address,” Obama wrote in the letter, which was headlined “I cannot do it alone.” “I set out an urgent plan for restoring economic security for struggling middle class families. This is my top priority, but I cannot do it alone — and that’s why I’m writing to you now.”

    Obama discussed his economic proposals and also vowed not to walk away from the goal of passing a national health care bill. And then the pitch. “I need your voice. I need your passion,” he concluded. “Can you help fuel our fight for the middle class with a monthly donation of $15 or more?”

    http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/opinion/blogs/beltway-confidential/Obama-You-liked-my-speech–Please-send-money-82861417.html#ixzz0dsiN6ShB

  4. State of the Union: Barack Obama gets an F for world leadership Snips

    Terrorism is a top issue for American voters, but President Obama displayed what can only be described as a stunning indifference towards the defence of the homeland.

    The war in Afghanistan, which will soon involve a hundred thousand American troops, merited barely a paragraph.

    I cannot think of a US president in modern times who has attached less importance to human rights issues. For the hundreds of millions of people across the world, from Burma to Sudan to Zimbabwe, clamouring to be free of oppression, there was not a shred of hope offered in Barack Obama’s address.

    Obama’s world leadership in his first year in office has been weak-kneed and little short of disastrous. He has sacrificed the projection of American power upon the altar of political vanity, with empty speeches and groveling apologies across the world, from Strasbourg to Cairo. He has appeased some of America’s worst enemies, and has extended the hand of friendship to many of the most odious regimes on the face of the earth. Judging by the State of the Union address tonight, we can expect more of the same from an American president who seems determined to lead the world’s greatest power along a path of decline.

    http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/nilegardiner/100024086/state-of-the-union-obama-gets-an-f-for-world-leadership/

  5. Blogger reactions from various places and comments on the SOTU

    Nancy was doing the Botox Bogie!

    As Obama gazes affectionately at himself, inside his head he’s saying, “I feel petty…Oh, so pretty…I feel pretty and witty, and g*y…!”

    I won my bet. I bet he would blame Bush in the first minute and he did in 48 seconds.

    Last year I worried that he didn’t have enough experience. I was mistaken. I underestimated his lack of experience!

    Barry to the American people, “Go screw yourself!”
    The American people to Barry, “You first!”

    Janet Napolitano’s body language summarized his speech. “Wake me up when he sits down.”

    My favorite:

    “You Lie!” “I Swear it is the Truth, So Help me Marx.”

  6. Evergreen Freedom Foundation

    They keep getting it wrong at Recovery.gov, the federal government Web site that tracks stimulus efforts. First it was phantom Congressional districts, then phantom Zip Codes, now it’s phantom stimulus contracts.

    And they’re too easy to find since it only took one phone call to dig one up.

    According to Recovery.gov, two contracts totaling $210,381 resulting in the creation of zero jobs were awarded in the Kirkland, Wash. Zip Code of 98034. Per the site, both were awarded to Lancs Industries, a manufacturer of protective clothing, containment devices and other safety products.

    This came as news to Tim Wiest, Lancs’ president, however. Wiest said that his company sells to firms doing work at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation. They have used stimulus funds obtained through Department of Energy contracts to buy his company’s products. But Lancs itself does not have any contractual relationship with the U.S. government, he said.

    “I am uncomfortable with the appearance that stimulus funds are coming to us directly,” he said. Yet the clear implication from the Web site is that is what’s happening.
    Wiest wanted it understood that the implication is false. Lancs Industries has “no contract with any federal agency through which we receive federal stimulus funds,” he said.

    When he was asked if it was possible that the $210,000 and change could have been reported as having been received by one or more of his customers he said the opportunity for double counting of the dollars is there.

    “The only thing that’s clear is that it’s unclear,” Wiest said.

    http://watchdog.org/2010/01/26/stimulus-contract-is-news-to-recipient/

    http://www.hanfordwatch.org/
    (The largest nuclear dump in the Western Hemisphere)

    • Ga. Peach,

      I was just looking into the same thing. According to Recovery.gov,OKLAHOMA CITY zip code 74443 received $11.9 million. But the United States Postal Service has no record of it.

      http://oklahoma.watchdog.org/2010/01/06/299/

      HUH ? That leaves one question. If the stimulus funds are not going to where Recovery.gov say’s they are going where are the stimulus fund’s? Obviously they are not being recived where Recovery.gov is claiming they are being sent. Do you know if any watchdog group is on this, Asking questions and demanding answers.

      • Leza, the only ones I have recently checked is http://www.watchdog.org and http://www.stimuluswatch.org

        I am on dial-up and computer acting up so I get frustrated easily because if I sit there long enough to read much, it shuts me down and I have to go thru that crappy connect/download, etc. each time; so I don’t get the info I really want. Check them out! Also, if you will go to http://www.cspan.org/stimulus they have some others listed that are keeping watch. The more eyes the better, right???

        Great minds think alike….that’s why our group is soooo perfect!!! Love to all!!!

        • Thank you Ga Peach! I’ll keep an eye out and check the links you posted often!
          ———
          “Great minds think alike….that’s why our group is soooo perfect!!! Love to all!!!”
          ——–
          Yes we do, and double ditto!!

  7. Renee: I just sent a reply to Leza..is it stuck in moderation??

  8. Ga Peach,

    I hate moderation, LOL
    I was researching SEIU President Andy Stern
    and I found this –

    First Impressions from Conference Call with SEIU President Andy Stern

    A full transcript or link thereto of the conference call in which I just participated with Service Employees International Union President Andy Stern will be available on Monday, but I wanted to provide a brief follow-on from my post of December 14, 2007, “Friday Teleconference Questions for SEIU President Andy Stern,” to give readers here a sense of my take on what Mr. Stern had to say.

    Under comments ZA ZAMMMM !!! SEIU already had Obama picked to run for President !!
    (Not proof, but I’m not done yet!!)

    Comment – (Notice date of comment Posted on 12/18/07 at 19:06:34 )

    Wrote Dusty:
    My dear Dark Wraith,

    The B&C is coming around. As a dyed in the wool Rethug, he now says he wants..wait for it..

    OBAMA for Pres..I shit you not sir.

    I have educated and continue to educate the B&C, because I consider it a worthwhile cause..and not only that..but it’s my ticket to good karma 😉

    Its hard to deal with a person of such narrow-mindedness..but I will fight the good fight as long as I am able. Currently I have the opinion that if he fell into a large hole, I would do nothing to help him out..but thats only because he pissed me off today when it came to taking one of my many cats to the Vets.

    I did win that argument, as I usually do..just took more bitching and brow-beating than usual.

    Posted on 12/18/07 at 19:06:34 •

    http://s7-us2.startpage-proxy.com/do/proxy?c=hf&rid=LDLMQOSNSRRM&l=english&cat=web&q=andy+stern+roots+of+all+evil&u=http%3A%2F%2Fdark-wraith.com%2Findex.php%3Fitemid%3D113&udata=41509f275c08c8da863c8055fd8bb42b&/file.gz

    • WOW, just a warning. after reading more links on the web site I posted above I want to warn everyone it appears to be a farrrrrrr left web site. I try’ed to find who the web master of it is and cannot. Reading some of the links it’s almost like O speaking “creepy” !!

      • Can one of you “Please” go to this web site for me and about three fourths the way down on the left it says “Me4President2008 ” and see if you can get it to open the link? It wont open for me jezz am I curious now. If you click on any of the links on this page they open up about half way down the page. If no body wants to look “belive” me I understand.

  9. What Governor McDonnell must say tomorrow night
    January 25, James Simpson Snips…great article

    Dear Governor McDonnell:

    You need to clarify our message: we are not the Party of No. We are the Party of No Way!

    No Way we’ll let you ruin our economy!
    No Way we’ll let you compromise our security!
    No Way we’ll let you destroy our health care!
    No Way we’ll let you bankrupt our government!

    Acknowledge that we Republicans lost our way for a while. We admit it. But the scales have fallen from our eyes. This administration and Congress’s attempt to steamroll their destructive, radical agenda across this land has shaken us out of our lethargy. Our vision is crystal clear:

    ·Republicans are the Party of limited government and free markets.
    · Republicans are the Party of liberty.
    · Republicans are the Party of principle.
    · Republicans are the Party of ALL the People.
    · And this is because Republicans are the Party of the United States Constitution.

    http://www.examiner.com/x-25466-DC-Independent-Examiner~y2010m1d25-The-speech-needed-to-save-the-free-world

  10. Today is Feb. 2, 2010 and O is on TV again.

    His audience is mostly union members. He tells one lie after another then distorts everything else.

    He is trying to sound folksy and down to earth. He is talking about spending money wisely. Budgeting is how the deficit will be worked down, he says. Red ink keeps him awake at night and most of it was inherited, he continues.

    Obama is just a flim flam man who thinks he can fool us into going along with him. He thinks we will believe him when he’s working us over with his charm. We are his “marks” who he considers stupid. How else did he get elected in the first place?

    He worked the American people over using his flim flam charm and his grifter tactics. He’s still trying to work us over but more and more people are on to him, the grifter, con man, who scammed his way into the White House.

  11. Tough Decisions on Spending Include $2.5 Million on Super Bowl Ad for Census

    Where to cut the spending? Obama has told us we have to make some tough choices. Yup, it wasn’t easy, but they decided to keep in the $2.5 million for a Census ad during the Super Bowl. That’s just a part of the $132 million we will spend to tell people to fill out and mail in their census forms.

    I understand that our constitution requires a census every ten years, but it does not require we waste our money advertising for it. You don’t turn it in – you’re not counted. Next!

    Hey, Big Government – quit stealing, borrowing and spending our money and get out of the way!

    http://biggovernment.com/gknapp/2010/02/04/tough-decisions-on-spending-include-2-5m-on-super-bowl-ad/#more-69494

  12. Huh ??? The Inspector General CANNOT investigate??? hmmmm….

    In response to a Republican lawmaker who requested a probe into dismissed complaints against the New Black Panther Party, the Justice Department’s Inspector General said he has been unable to investigate because he lacks the authority.

    Justice Department Inspector General Glenn A. Fine wrote in a four-page letter to Rep. Frank Wolf of Virginia that Congress stripped him of the power to investigate all alleged wrongdoings within his department.

    Wolf had asked for an investigation into what he claimed was an “unfounded dismissal” of complaints against the group.

    The complaint accused the New Black Panther Party of voter intimidation during the 2008 presidential elections.

    Fine wrote in his letter to Wolf that “unlike all other OIGs which have unlimited jurisdiction to investigate all allegations of waste, fraud or abuse within their agencies, the Department of Justice OIG does not.”

    “For several years, I have expressed my position that Congress should change this jurisdiction,” Fine wrote.

    Go to article here to click on letter

    http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2010/02/04/justice-department-inspector-general-stripped-investigative-power/?test=latestnews

  13. I wouldn’t believe it if I hadn’t seen it with my own two eyes.

    U. S. Department of Justice
    Civil Rights Division, Voting Section
    Trial Attorney, GS-14/15

    The U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division is seeking up to 10 experienced attorneys for the position of Trial Attorney in the Voting Section in Washington, D.C. The Civil Rights Division is primarily responsible for enforcing federal statutes and executive orders that prohibit, among other things, unlawful discrimination in voting, education, employment, housing, police services, public accommodations and facilities, and federally funded and conducted programs.

    The Civil Rights Division encourages qualified applicants with targeted disabilities to apply. Targeted disabilities are deafness, blindness, missing extremities, partial or complete paralysis, convulsive disorder, mental retardation, mental illness, severe distortion of limbs and/or spine.

    The Department of Justice welcomes and encourages applications from persons with physical and mental disabilities.

    http://www.justice.gov/oarm/jobs/attorneyvotingoarm2010.htm

  14. Madsen’s Report on Toyota (Madsen is an economist)
    February 10, 2010 — Obama waging economic warfare on several fronts, including Japan

    The Obama administration has expanded its economic warfare against other countries, first reported on January 18 by WMR in the case of an authorized financial campaign against Venezuela. The Obama administration, according to WMR’s Asian sources, is waging an economic warfare campaign, coupled with industrial sabotage, against Japan through a pre-planned operation directed against the Japanese automobile manufacturer, Toyota.

    WMR has learned that the Obama administration authorized the anti-Toyota campaign as a warning shot to Japan over its reformist government’s insistence that the U.S. pull its military troops out of Okinawa. WMR has learned that Obama and his chief of staff, Rahm Emanuel, have decided to turn the screws on Japan, not only for auto market leverage, but also to punish Japan over the insistence by Prime Minister Yukio Hatoyama and the newly-elected anti-U.S. military mayor of Nago on Okinawa to move the U.S. military off of Okinawa.

    Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood, a former congressman from Peoria, Illinois and who is owned and operated by Peoria-based Caterpillar, whose major competitor is Japan’s Kubota Tractor Corporation, kicked off the anti-Toyota campaign when he stated that all Toyota owners should stop driving their vehicles and return them to the dealership for a fix. LaHood was referring to a problem with some uncontrolled acceleration problems with some Toyota vehicles. However, LaHood painted a wide brush in his comments about Toyotas when the problem, which resulted in a voluntary recall of millions of Toyota vehicles, including the popular Camry and Corolla, by the Japanese auto giant, affected only a small fraction of Toyota vehicles. LaHood has also threatened Toyota with unspecified civil penalties.

    Asian intelligence agencies have discovered that LaHood was implementing a White House operation to grab a major portion of Toyota’s market share and hand it over the General Motors and Ford. The Obama administration, through its bailout of GM, has become a virtual auto company and, therefore, is playing economic hard-ball with Japan. Ford also benefited from the Obama administration’s stimulus package. The chief architects of the anti-Toyota campaign, according to our sources, are Treasury Secretary Tim Geithner and White House chief of staff Emanuel.

    By increasing GM’s viability at the expense of Toyota, Geithner sees a potential windfall when the federal government sells its share of GM stock to the public. The corporate media has played along with the Obama administration’s anti-Toyota and anti-Japan operation by hyping the safety issues with Toyota’s vehicles, especially the once-popular Prius hybrid vehicle. The Obama administration has decided on economic warfare against Toyota to restore GM as the world’s number one auto manufacturer, a position enjoyed by GM until 2007 when Toyota overtook it in sales.

    The Japanese government is aware of the machinations of the Obama administration in creating the controversy about Toyota. Tokyo is also acutely aware of the ill-effects the Toyota recall is having on the value of the yen vis a vis the dollar.

    Informed sources point out to WMR that some 37,000 Americans died last year in road accidents. The issue of sticky accelerator pedals arose last year after a California Highway Patrolman and three of his family members were killed when their Lexus ES350 attained speeds in excess of 120 mph and struck another vehicle and was propelled off an embankment bursting into flames. One of the passengers in the Lexus reported in a 911 call that the accelerator was stuck. There is a controversy over whether the crash was caused by electronics or the floor mat. Toyota recalled millions of vehicles last October over concerns that gas pedals were catching on floor mats.

    Ironically, Toyota does not make the sensor-equipped accelerator pedal for its recalled vehicles. Elkhart, Indiana-based CTS (formerly known as Chicago Telephone Supply) manufactures the pedals for Toyota, as well as for Ford. China’s Jiangling Motors has complained about sticking gas pedals from CTS and the firm has developed a reputation for faulty accelerator pedals and their associated sensors. CTS’s President and CEO is India-born Vinod Khilnani. Curiously, the Obama administration, which is flush with Indian-Americans at high levels, has not criticized CTS, especially since it supplied the very same accelerator pedals it manufactures for Toyota and GM to the U.S. military.

    WMR has learned additional details about the hype by the Obama administration over Toyota’s accelerator pedals. We are informed by a knowledgeable source that the earlier problem with 2002-2004 Toyota models regarding the so-called sticking floor mat has nothing to do with Toyota Corporation, since the mats are fastened to the floorboard with clips and there’s a space around each pedal. The problem occurs when a cheap substitute carpet is installed by a garage or a cheating dealer. Toyota always prefers to see its own products used inside their vehicles. WMR has also learned that the Prius brake problem is not serious and that it is caused by a difference in torque when the car switches from engine to electric motors.

    Some may question why the Obama administration chose to target Toyota in its economic warfare campaign and not other Japanese auto manufacturers. The major shareholder in Isuzu is GM, which the Obama administration effectively owns. In addition, Ford owns Mazda.

    The CTS-manufactured accelerator pedal used in Toyotas relies on an electronic pressure sensor. WMR has been informed by knowledgeable sources that the sensors are vulnerable to non-civilian frequencies. The Obama administration, fearful that military transmissions may be responsible for accelerator accidents, may have sought to jump the gun by blaming Toyota for the accelerator problems.

    The last time an American president authorized a major economic intelligence operation against Japan was during the administration of Bill Clinton. In 1995, Clinton authorized NSA to spy on companies like Toyota and Nissan during U.S. trade negotiations with Japan over Japanese luxury car imports to the United States. George H W Bush also used NSA to eavesdrop on Indonesia during negotiations between that government and Japan’s NEC on a major multi-million dollar telecommunications contract. Bush shared the intelligence with AT&T, a competitor of NEC on the Indonesian contract. On January 30, Obama met with former President George H. W. Bush at the White House in what was described as a “courtesy call.”

    In addition to Japan, the Obama administration is also waging war on the “soft underbelly” of the European Union. The Treasury and the Federal Reserve Bank have decided that if the national economies of the “PIGS” — Portugal, Italy, Greece, and Spain — are attacked, the euro will fall against the dollar, since the European Central Bank will be forced to bail out the most vulnerable large economies in the European Union. Spanish Prime Minister Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapatero, a Socialist, recently attended the National Prayer Breakfast meeting in Washington, also attended by Obama, in order to plead Spain’s case. Apparently, Zapatero came away empty-handed and he was roundly criticized for attending an event sponsored by an ultra-right wing group, The Fellowship, which had tied with the Spanish fascist government of Francisco Franco. Obama also snubbed Zapatero, the current president of the rotating EU presidency, by saying he would not attend an EU-US summit scheduled for Madrid in May.

    Obama’s worsening relations with China, developing from the U.S. administration’s agreement to sell advanced weaponry to Taiwan, and the tweaking of the nose of the Russian bear by placing missile systems in Poland and Romania, have a number of worldwide intelligence agencies wondering whether Obama is trying to outdo George W. Bush in obstinacy and diplomatic bluster.

    http://www.waynemadsenreport.com/

    citizenwells.wordpress.com/…/grassroots-in-nebraska-update-february-10-2010-meeting-february-11-sovereignty-resolution-open-thread-larry-sincla…

    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=123472225

  15. Where will it end??? I guess the Wizard of Oz will be banned from viewing because it has a “yellow brick road”. Remember tomorrow when you get on the road…watch that gold line in the center of the road. PC….Pure Crap
    ~~~~~~~
    From the Atlanta Journal Constitution

    Moving to tamp a controversy that has reached the national news, MARTA CEO Beverly Scott said Thursday afternoon that the transit agency would change the name of its “yellow” train line, which goes to Doraville, home to a large Asian-American community. The line will now be called “gold.”

    Scott said the details had not been settled on exactly how to make the change, but it would be phased in — a less expensive option than implementing it all at once.

    “We’re thrilled,” said Helen Kim, director of advocacy and education at the Center for Pan Asian Community Services in Doraville. “I think this shows that MARTA heard our voice and they are sensitive to our concerns.”

    “Yellow” has historically been used as a derogatory term for Asians, such as “the yellow peril” or “the yellow hordes.”

    Kim said her group and others would pay close attention to the details of the transition.

    Scott said she still intended to meet with Asian-American group leaders as scheduled Friday, but that there was no point in delaying the decision. She said MARTA had never intended to offend anyone with the renaming, which went into effect Oct. 1 along with other color names for the rest of the system, and that it was making the change out of “an abundance of caring for this community.”

    http://www.ajc.com/news/atlanta/marta-yellow-line-to-299283.html

    • This has to be single most-stupid thing that I’ve heard this week. With everything else going on in the world, THIS is all they can find to whine about? Sheesh.

  16. American Bandstand

Leave a Reply

